rings

We bought rings carved from stone when we were younger
wore them until they each shattered

and we didn’t drop them
but we didn’t replace them
and it felt very final

that they were broken and gone

(I kept the pieces)

and we went back to daily life
and my mother gave me one today that fits
and I commented that the last one I had, I loved it

but it broke

and the woman at the counter commented
that unless they’re dropped or splintered
the stone tries to stay until it has nothing left to offer
that if it does break,
it’s because it’s been worn

or struck by an evil

and maybe both

she told me if after wearing this one, if it broke
that I need to go home and wrap myself in cotton down

I’m wearing it now

did we wear the old ones out?

Leave a Reply

